Missy Hattermann, County Treasurer; Natosha Petitt, Tax Deputy, Sharon Johnson, Motor Vehicle Deputy, Laura Scroggin, Driver's License Deputy & Brooke Scroggin Drivers License/MV Clerk

WELCOME to the Official Treasurers’ website:

We accept Visa, Mastercard, and Discover debit cards/credit cards in the office, for taxes or motor vehicle.   Fees will apply.  

We accept Visa debit card (as long as it doesn't use interlink), Mastercard credit/debit card and Discover credit card in the office for drivers license.  Fees will apply.

Internet transactions are payable by : Master Card, Visa, Discover, or E-Check.  Fees will Apply.

To pay by eCheck, you will need the RECEIPT number from your tax billing statement,
or the PIN number from your motor vehicle renewal notice.

Returns for insufficient funds will be charged a fee of $20.00.

  • To pay property tax, enter your 10 digit PARCEL number, or enter your name in the correct field, in the following format:   Last name, comma, first name.   IE:  Brown, Charles
  • We are now accepting delinquent tax payments online.  If a parcel has been sold on Tax Sale, or has been Suspended, you cannot pay online, at this time.
  • Payment by 11:59 pm September 30th or March 31st will be acceptable online.
  • Motor Vehicle Tag Renewal Available Online.  Click on the Vehicle Tags above.  You may not renew online if you owe fines, child support, or need SR 22 insurance.  You will need the PIN number from your renewal notice to pay online.


Drivers Licensing 8:00 to 4:00 Daily in Office, written test prior to 3:30 pm.
Drive test from 8:00 am to 11:30 am and 1:30 pm to 3:15 pm.
Motorcycle Drive tests by appointment only on Wednesday at 9:00 am weather permitting.
CDL written tests given anytime prior to 3:30 pm.
CDL drive tests are not available.

2018 Tax Sale Information- The O'Brien County Tax Sale will begin at 9:00 a.m., on Monday, June 18th, 2018.  The sale will be conducted at the O'Brien County Courthouse.  Bidders shall place their bids online.  Bidders need not be present at the courthouse.  Please click on the following link for additional information.


If you wish to attend the sale in person, a computer will be available on a first come, first serve basis.  Please note, all bids must be placed online.  Live bids will not be accepted.

Contact Information

O’Brien County Treasurer
2nd Floor Courthouse
155 S Hayes Ave PO Box 310
Primghar IA 51245

Phone: 712-957-3210
Motor Vehicle: 712-957-4185
Driver License: 712-957-3208
Fax: 712-957-0015

Office Hours:
8:00 - 4:30 / Monday - Friday
Driver License:
8:00 - 4:00 / Monday - Friday
Drivers License Written Testing:
8:00 - 3:30 / Monday - Friday
Drive Test given:
8:00 to 11:00 and 1:30 to 3:00
Drive Tests given:
8:00 am to 11:00 am Fridays
Motorcycle Drive Tests:
9:00 am Wednesday Morning, by Appointment

Treasurer or Tax:
Motor Vehicle:
Drivers License:

Missy Hattermann, Treasurer
Natosha Petitt, Deputy Treasurer
Sharon Johnson, Motor Vehicle Deputy
Laura Scroggin, Driver's License Deputy
Brooke Scroggin, Driver License/MV  Clerk


January 1st, New Year’s Day
February 19th, President’s Day
May 28th, Memorial Day
July 4th, Independence Day
September 3rd,  Labor Day
November 12th, Veterans Day
November 22nd and 23rd, Thanksgiving
December 24th and 25th Christmas