Staff & Commissioners


Deanna Akeson

Administrator/County Veterans Service Officer (CVSO)
Deanna L. Akeson

Deanna has served as the Administrator since November 1998.  She became nationally-accredited with the Federal Department of Veterans Affairs through the National Association of County Veteran Service Officers in June of 2003 and is required to earn continuing education units (CEUs) annually.  Deanna is cross-accredited with American Legion, Disabled American Veterans, Military Order of the Purple Heart, The Retired Enlisted Association and Vietnam Veterans of America.

left to right:  Joshua Haack, Member, J. Duane Schimmer, Secretary, and Duane Wahlstrom, Chair


Joshua Haack, Maj USAF Ret.  Primghar, IA – Joshua has joined the Commission July 2018.  He retired from US Air Force service after 24 years from 1993 – 2017, having served during the Global War on Terrorism.

J. Duane Schimmer, Secretary  Sutherland, IA – Duane has served as your Commissioner since 2000.  He served in the US Army from 1953 – 1954 with service in Korea.

Duane Wahlstrom, Chair  Sheldon, IA – Duane has served as your Commissioner since 2008.  He was a US Navy submariner from 1948 – 1952 with service during the Korean War.

Are you interested in becoming a Commissioner?  Contact the office for an application and details.